Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Source: Publisher
In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.
During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.
Debut author Veronica Roth bursts onto the literary scene with the first book in the Divergent series—dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.

There are books that everyone needs to read in their lifetime and I think that Divergent is definitely one of them. I had heard so much hype about Divergent that I was really excited when I got it for review, but at the same time, I was not sure if I would love it, but I do. It has such a stunning premise. There are five factions, which are: Candor which embodies honesty, Abnegation who are selfless, Dauntless who are brave, Amity who are Peaceful, and Erudite who want intelligence. When you are 16, you are given a test that helps you decide which faction you should be in. I think that is a really unique and amazing concept that I loved.
Tris is very easy to like and connect with. She was intelligent, spunky, and really nice. I loved Al and Christina. They were such great friends to Tris and really cared about what happened to her. Four was so amazing and I totally love him. He is such a sweet and strong character. All of the characters were well developed and lovely. I couldn't help caring about each character a lot and I felt so invested that some parts were hard to read.
There was so much action in Divergent. Every part of the book was intense and surprising. I could not put this book down and finished it in one or two sittings. Roth reinvents Chicago and takes us into a gripping and unforgettable world that is full of surprises, betrayal, and just plain awesomeness. Divergent is an amazing debut that will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games, Delirium, and many other dystopian novels. I can't wait for more from Roth in the future. Seriously buy this book now!

1 comment:

Thanks for visiting. Every comment creates a smile.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin