Sunday, October 9, 2011

In My Mailbox (Week of October 9th)

For review:
Everybody Sees the Ants by AS King
How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Virtousity by Jessica Martinez
The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa
So Yesterday by Scott Westerfeld

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (116)

Title: In Honor
Author: Jessi Kirby
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Release Date: May 18th, 2012

Honor receives her brother's last letter from Iraq three days after learning that he died, and opens it the day his fellow Marines lay the flag over his casket. Its contents are a complete shock: concert tickets to see Kyra Kelly, her favorite pop star and Finn's celebrity crush. In his letter, he jokingly charged Honor with the task of telling Kyra Kelly that he was in love with her.
Grief-stricken and determined to grant Finn's last request, she rushes to leave immediately. But she only gets as far as the driveway before running into Rusty, Finn's best friend since third grade and his polar opposite. She hasn't seen him in ages, thanks to a falling out between the two guys, but Rusty is much the same as Honor remembers him: arrogant, stubborn. . . and ruggedly good looking. Neither one is what the other would ever look for in a road trip partner, but the two of them set off together, on a voyage that makes sense only because it doesn't. Along the way, they find small and sometimes surprising ways to ease their shared loss and honor Finn--but when shocking truths are revealed at the end of the road, will either of them be able to cope with the consequences?

I really loved Jessi Kirby's first book, Moonglass was amazing and this one sounds fantastic. I also love the cover.

Monday, October 3, 2011

Contest: Ruling Passion by Alyxandra Harvey

MEET the Drakes:

A darkly romantic, irresistibly alluring family of royal vampire blood
READ Alyxandra Harvey's Ruling Passion: a haunting, humorous saga, now gathered into one juicy volume!
"A refreshing take of the familiar teenage vampire drama . . . Harvey builds an engaging world of vampire cultures balanced wit a smart mix of darknewss and humor." -Publishers Weekly
A fabulous and fast-paced read! The action is superb . . . this is the perfect escape read." -Romantic Times
Bind up contains:

Hearts at Stake

Blood Feud

Out for Blood

US street address only. Ends on October 17th.

Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

Source: Publisher
A move to Ireland is about to introduce Megan to her destiny, her real destiny, can she embrace it and will she survive it?
A tragedy in Megan’s past set her on a predetermined course. A chain of events has been set in motion that brings Megan to Kinsale, a small town in the south of Ireland where her destiny awaits her. Her life starts to fall into place as she makes new friends and settles into her new school. However, the reclusive and distant Adam DeRís calls to her body and soul.
She finds herself increasingly drawn to Adam and his strange family. Adam knows a secret from her past and he and his family hold the key to her future. A future that binds her to Adam and his world, a world of power, mystery and ancient orders. A world that unbeknownst to her, she very much belongs in.
I found Carrier of the Mark to be a charming read with a few problems. I wish that the characters had been developed a bit more and that a few parts of the plot was more smooth. The setting of Ireland is gorgeous and mystical. I loved that I was instantly transported there and immersed into the story. Megan moves to a new place. She makes friends and becomes obsessed with Adam DeRís. Their romance seems extremely rushed and strong. I wish that it had been slower. His sister Áine was very funny and I wish she was in the book more. Some of the language and slang was very American and the dialogue could have been better. I had information overload a few times and wish that what Carrier of the Mark and Royal Bloods are, had been explained better or more gradually, instead of all at once. The plot dragged a few times, but overall the mythology had a lot of potential and I found it really fascinating. I am excited to see where Fallon will take it next. This book will definitely appeal to fans of Paranormal Romance and I recommend this book to fans of the Sweep series by Cate Tiernan and the Castor Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

Sunday, October 2, 2011

In My Mailbox (Week of October 2nd)

Books for Review:
Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
Going Underground by Susan Vaught
I'm Not Here & If I Tell by Jane Gurtler
The Faerie Ring by Kiki Hamilton
Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts
Perfect by Ellen Hopkins
Cresendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
Lost in Time by Melissa de la Cruz
Behemoth & Goliath by Scott Westerfeld


Blog Widget by LinkWithin